Jump to Content
Jump to Subnavigation
Jump to main-navigation
You are here: 

1) Conference of the Ministers of Transport

The conference is the meeting of the Ministers of Transport from the Alpine countries France, Italy, Germany, Austria, Switzerland, Slovenia and the principality of Liechtenstein (full member since May 2012). The European Commission participates as an observer in the person of the respective Commissioner for Transport.
The Conference of Ministers holds an important political function as a platform for communication between the countries in the Alpine region on matters of transport. Moreover, the political level of the Zurich Process serves as a lobbying instrument to ensure that the necessary special importance is accorded to the distinctive features of the Alpine region (sensitivity in terms of ecological damage, topography, confined spatial structures, meteorology) and in particular with regard to the evident burden caused by (transit) traffic.  As is the case with the EU Directive on Safety Requirements for Tunnels in European Road Networks, this multilateral body also has an initiative function.

On average, the ministers meet every two years. The first meeting was held on 20 November 2001 in Zurich (CH), followed by Regensberg (CH) in May 2004, Sedrun (CH) in November 2005, Lyon (F) in October 2006, Vienna (AT) in May 2009 , Leipzig (DE) in May 2012 and Leipzig (DE) in May 2014.


  1. Declaration of Zurich (30 Nov. 2001)
  2. Conclusion of Regensberg (11 May 2004)
  3. Resolution of Sedrun (14. Nov. 2005)
  4. Conclusion Lyon (20 Oct. 2006)
  5. Conclusions of Vienna (7. May 2009)
  6. Conclusions of Leipzig (2. May 2012)
  7. Conclusions of Leipzig (12. May 2014)
  8. Conclusions of Lugano (31. May 2016)
copyright by BMVIT
Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Bau und Stadtentwicklung (Germany) Ministère de l'Écologie, de l'Energie, du Développement durable et de l'Aménagement du territoire (France) Ministero delle Infrastrutture e dei Trasporti (Italy) Bundesminsiterium für Innovation, Verkehr und Technologie (Austria) Eidgenössisches Departement für Umwelt, Verkehr, Energie und Kommunikation (Switzerland) Ministrstvo za promet (Slovenia) Directorate General Energy and Transport